The primary function of the Assessor's Office is to value all property in the community annually at full market value as outlined in Chapter 59 of the Massachusetts General Laws. The market value of residential properties is determined by using the full and fair cash value sales of similar properties from the year preceding the assessment date of January 1. These values are certified by the Massachusetts Department of Revenue. The tax rate for Fiscal 2019 is $15.38 per $1,000 of valuation.
|2018||$16.01 per $1,000 of valuation|
|2017||$15.08 per $1,000 of valuation|
|2016||$15.59 per $1,000 of valuation|
|2015||$15.61 per $1,000 of valuation|
|2014||$15.81 per $1,000 of valuation|
|2013||$15.79 per $1,000 of valuation|
The Assessors Office maintains records relating to deeds, plot plans and field cards. It is the responsibility of this office to process motor vehicle excise and boat abatements as well as real estate tax exemptions.
WHITMAN BUILDING PERMIT INSPECTIONS July-2019.
The Whitman Assessor's Office will begin conducting building permit inspections for permits that were taken out between July 1, 2018 and
June 30, 2019 for assessment purposes. Please allow our inspectors from
Patriot Properties to inspect your property in order to close out your permit with the Assessors. Please note that this does not satisfy the requirement for
a final inspection from the Building Department. Contact the Assessor's Office with any questions at 781-618-9760.
Taxpayers seeking an abatement for over-valuation of real estate must submit an overvaluation application for abatement during the month of January.
Taxpayers subject to personal property tax who discontinue their business should file a discontinuance notice with the town clerk to avoid additional assessments.
For more information, view the Owner - Property Value Information.
*** REMINDER ***
This is a reminder that each year all persons who own businesses or who conduct business in Whitman are subject to taxation and therefore must submit a Form of List required under Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 59, Section 29 to the Board of Assessors before March 1, 2019.
The form is available here or you can obtain this form by:
- Picking one up in our office at 54 South Avenue, Whitman, MA 02382 Monday, Wednesday & Thursday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Tuesday 8:00 am - 7:30 pm
- Call our office at 781-618-9760 and we will be happy to mail one to you